Sign in to follow this  
moosecountry

Snowthrower Chain Help 79360

moosecountry

Hi all, newbie here~!

I have a Toro 314 with 79360 snowthrower attachment. I have all the manuals and have read them, but am having a problem with the snowthrower chain.

I just bought that machine and test drove it last night before buying it. Everything worked find. Today the auger would not engage and upon inspection I noticed the chain had come off the sprockets.

The manual clearly shows an adjustable idler sprocket, but I have neither the sprocket nor the "slot" in the side of the snowthrower for this idler sprocket. The manual does not cover replacement of the chain or a diagram for how the chain should be routed around the sprockets.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance, Tim

Duff

Hi, Tim, and :D !

Glad you found us!

Some of the folks who know snowblowers (I don't) are at work and such, so replies may not be immediate but I'm sure someone will come along to help you out.

So.....where is "moosecountry" in your neck of the woods?

Duff :ychain:

pfrederi

I think you will find that idler on the bottom in the front is in a slot and can be adjusted. The slot is fairly short and isn't always visible. (at least it is that way on all my snowblowers

Sparky

Heres a couple pics of my snowblower. I'm pointing at the nut you loosen to adjust the tension and the other pic shows the chain routing. The adjustable sprocket is the lowest one.

Mike.........

001-1.jpg

002-2.jpg

WH nut

If the chain is streched a bit, you can always take a die grinder and expand the slot just a tad

Trouty56

Cheater!!...lol....now that is a good idea. :ychain:

moosecountry

Heres a couple pics of my snowblower. I'm pointing at the nut you loosen to adjust the tension and the other pic shows the chain routing. The adjustable sprocket is the lowest one.

Mike.........

001-1.jpg

002-2.jpg

Wow, thanks!