Sign in to follow this  
farmboy73

weight placement and why?

farmboy73

Hello fellow wheelhorse owners, I am new to the game as our 4-H group has just started a lawnmower pulling club this passing year. Our first year was great and me and my brother both shared our c-120 loved it we did great even with the turf tires, now its alittle more serious :hide: My question is why do I most often see people putting wieght just in front of the rear tires?? :D. it makes more sense to us to have it further to the back preferable behind the rear tires. Is there any advantage? If anyone is able to help me out that would be great :D I also plan on eventually putting on our three wheelhorse pullers that we have gained the past few years. for the record we have 2 b-100's and c-120 and just to show that the wheelhorse community is growing I am from ONT, CANADA :ychain: lol hope you can help. - justin-

rmaynard

:D Glad to have you aboard. I don't have the answer to your question, as I don't pull, but I am sure that answers will follow. My guess is that you need the weight in the front to keep the front on the ground for steering. :ychain:

Bob

btrrg1969

:ychain:

chris11

When you put the weight in front of the rear wheels. It loads the rear tires because of the pivot point.It has to lift the weights as you go.If they are behind the rear wheels your just helping the tractor come off the ground in the front your not lifting the weight. You want to put the power to the rear so they dont spin.

jhunsch

You might watch a few u-tube videos to get more ideas on weight placement.

I have only be involved in the pulling tractors for a short year

Deere Hunter