Sign in to follow this  
nitro

1981 C-125 automatic

nitro

Hello,

I am a newbie on this forum. I have acquired a 1981 C-125 automatic with a mower deck and 99% of all original parts. It has been sitting awhile. I have a few questions 1. Is it worthwhile to repair the hydrostatic unit (the previous owner let it sit because it quit moving) or install an 8 speed from a similar tractor? 2. The fender is cracked to pieces and I was wondering if it can be repaired or should it be replaced? It did come with all the pieces that were broken off. And what is the fender made of? :thumbs:

dryrun

NITRO, first, :)

My opinion would be to try to determine cause of no-drive condition, tow valve open, linkage, low oil, engine drive sheared etc. I know very little about this tractor, so wait for others who can help you. I just mainly wanted to say WELCOME

REGARDS GEORGE :thumbs:

mavfreak

:thumbs: I would look into fixing the hydro befor you give up on it. The fender is probly unfixable by what you discribed a metal one is the only poption for repaicement unless your lucky enough to fine a good one or are good at body work. Good luck.

Also :)

Duff

Ni, Nitro! :)

I don't know anything about hydros so I'll defer to our members with experience for any recommendations there. The rear fender, as I understand it can be replaced with a metal one from most C-, 300-, 400- and 500-series machines. These are quite plentiful on the used market! Post something in our "Classifieds" section. The general concensus I've heard is the plastic ones are not worth repairing unless you are trying to do a full restore (as opposed to rebuild).

Duff :thumbs:

Sparky

First thing..... :thumbs: !

Like Duff said, any fender pan off a "C"-300-400-500 series tractor will work as a replacement but I think the 300-400-500 style fenders look the best on the Black Hood tractors like yours.