Sign in to follow this  
Audioshot

Bagging deck height

Audioshot

Is there an optimal deck height that is recommended when using the tube and bagger? I normally mow in the third position (@ 3"). I'm just looking to suck up some leaves and not really concerned about cut height. The deck is a 37" sidedischarge.

Thanks

Save Old Iron

If you are mainly interested in lifting debris off the grass, raise the deck as high as you can. This will promote the most amount of AIRFLOW thru the deck. VACUUM will drop off a little, but your are looking for AIRFLOW to keep the debris suspended and tossed into the bags.

Lower the deck 1/2 inch at time if you're leaving debris behind.

Audioshot

Great! Thank you. I've never used the bagger before and I'm getting ready to mount it on the machine for the first time.

Don1977

I've never used a bagger. I have a vacuum and I mow backwards with it throw the grass and leaves in. What escapes you get in the next round.

Save Old Iron

I normally mow in the third position

I have tried to mow in the "third position" myself but have found it difficult to get under the low hanging branches of the apple trees !!

Attached Image

post-4-1283906628.jpg

HankB

I normally mow in the third position

I have tried to mow in the "third position" myself but have found it difficult to get under the low hanging branches of the apple trees !!

First position works better under trees.

first.jpg

Save Old Iron

Good advise Hank.

and while we are on the topic, I think this little move would work great for snagging those NOS mower belts from the top shelf of your parts rack !

Attached Image

post-4-1283930487.jpg

Audioshot

:) :USA:

That third position works well as long as the Redmax 8001 is not strapped to my back. If that is the case then I'll resort back to the first position....lol

Duff

Ooooh...the places we could go with this thread........ :)

Duff :USA:

W9JAB

:)

And my posts get deleted? :USA:

dcrage