Sign in to follow this  
KC9KAS

Snow Plow (LOADED) Question

KC9KAS

Assuming (yeah, I know) that 2 tractors are identical, EXCEPT 1 is an automatic, and the other a straight shift, which one would plow snow better?

TT

I personally prefer the hydro - and not necessarily because of hydraulic lift. (since a few of mine were manual lift)

The infinite speed adjustment, the ability to change direction almost instantly (like when you get stuck and you're trying to "rock" the tractor free :) ) and the fact that you aren't constantly dealing with a clutch pedal are a few perks.

Some guys complain about the "extra" warm up time for a hydro vs. a gear drive, but they seem to forget that there's heavier oil in a manual and the engine still has cold oil in it no matter what tranz is behind it.

rmaynard

I have never plowed with a hydro, so my experience is limited to gear drive, clutch and all that stuff. I have been plowing snow every winter since 1993 with my B-100 8-Speed. I never have to let it warm up, even if it's been sitting out in zero degree weather. Rocking has never been a problem either (I rarely get stuck :USA: ).

I'm not saying that a hydro wouldn't be easier, but for me, I put it in 3rd gear high and let her go. Just wish I had 3rd gear in reverse and a hydro lift. :)

Bob

TT

I never have to let it warm up, even if it's been sitting out in zero degree weather.

But you are supposed to. :):USA:

Of course I was factoring my location and everything I have to clear when it snows.

The folks that are lucky enough to have level paved driveways, "store bought" sidewalks, etc. definitely have an advantage over those with long, drifting lanes and hills you can barely walk up in the summer.

I have plowed snow with a 416-8 and a 416-H (both Onan-powered) and will take the hydro over the gear drive every time - and that goes for blowing and mowing too.

rmaynard