Sign in to follow this  
Guest skinner

Too Much Rust?

Hi,

Has anyone done a restoration on a project as derelict as mine and succeeded?

I recently acquired an abandoned B-80 8-speed. I've become completely enamored by the possibility of fixing it up while I've religiously hunted all of the B-80 posts and videos I can consume. I'm hooked on the concept but I'm not an expert metal fabricator. After disassembling the B-80 to the bare bones I've found that it has literally rusted to pieces in some areas, and I panicked. The hood support is paper thin and severely pitted - a lot of the other sheet metal is just the same, pitted with crumbly oxide crust on the surface. However the hood and fenders still have good meat, notwithstanding the pits. To me the question is not as much, "Is it worth it?", but more "Can it be done?" This little B-80 is becoming kind of a crusade for me but I keep losing a lot of the rust battles. What's good on it? I think the axles, frame, hood, dash, wheels, foot rests and MAYBE the steering components are probably okay. Everything else is just Iron oxide. Can this restoration be done right w/o costing an arm and a leg? I don't want a hangar queen I just want something professional and reliable for the end result. I would be crushed if I had to junk this B-80. I need expert opinions. :thumbs:

rickv1957

Sounds like you should find a doner parts tractor,many are out there :thumbs: Rick

rmaynard

Greg,

Take a look at this. The first is a B-80, the other is a C-160.

1ad4fdb8-1.jpg

That is some of the scrap that I bought to acquire parts.

Now take a look at what I built from those parts. All that you need is somewhere to start. You keep adding parts until you end up with something like this:

My B-100

Nothing is impossible.

Good luck with the B-80 project. :thumbs:

Bob

mavfreak

don't lose hope!

JimD