Sign in to follow this  
streetcop

diference between 312-8 and 416-8

streetcop

I am looking to purchase a tractor to mowe three acres. besides the horse power, can you tell me the difference between a 312-8 and a 416-8? Im new to the tractor world. are they good strong tractors?

Thanks

brian

TJ

I can tell you that either tractor, if they are in good running condition, can handle the job for you. :notworthy:

Tom

rickv1957

They are both good tractors and will get the job done,Rick

Coadster32

Don't know offhand the difference, but... :notworthy:

Rollerman

I am looking to purchase a tractor to mowe three acres. besides the horse power, can you tell me the difference between a 312-8 and a 416-8? Im new to the tractor world. are they good strong tractors?

They are both stout tractors shareing the same sheet metal & many other parts.

The 16HP 416 has a slight edge in sturdyness with slightly bigger rubber in back, 8" front wheel & tires, & a heavy duty 8 pininon rerar end with 1 1/8th axles.

The 312 has slightly smaller tires in back, 6" front wheel & tires, & probably (but not always) a lighter 4 pinion rear end with 1" axles.

If the price & condition is similar between the two I'd go for the 416 since it will handle a 48" deck with no problems when the grass gets a little long.

The 312 will pull the same sized deck, but it may work a little harder in the taller grass.

Again both are very stout & well built machines.

I'd buy both. :notworthy:

oldandred

the 312 has a 12 hp kohler the 416 has a 16 hp kohler a lot stronger engine than the 12 not much else is different

Sparky

Well for mowing I think the 312 would be best running a 42" deck max and not a 48"er.