bork

snow blade, wear-blade

bork

I'm new to this but is this what you call the strip of metal on bottom of blade? Do you guys replace with a factory part or usually make the blade. Or are aftermarket ones available?

Sarge

It's normally called the wear edge, try part #2346 , for 42" units. Superceded part number 92-6034-03, $27.05 from Sohar's.

Sarge

stevebo

The one that is oem is not that thick. I took the worn one off and went to the local metal fab shop and had them match it up with a thicker and taller cutting edge that will take a lot longer to wear out then oem. They can even punch the square holes so you can use the carriage bolts. It makes the plow heavier to lift however helps it cut as it adds a little more down pressure. :scratchead:

Sarge

I agree, they could be a bit heavier. If it were mine , just head to the welding shops and have them cut a piece of 1018 steel . The square holes aren't that hard, especially if they have a plasma cutter.

Sarge

Sparky

Dont forget guys that when it gets worn down just flip it over and remount it. After that sides all worn down you'll need a new one.

Mike..........

stevebo

What kills me is that I have picked up several blades that have NEVER been turned over and worn through the bolts :scratchead:

Sarge

Amen, got one here that not only got ground through the bolts, they ground it off until there was no sign they were ever there in the first place. Must have been going the full 7mph it's entire life on good hard concrete, asphalt would have worn out ....

Sarge

Duff

Dont forget guys that when it gets worn down just flip it over and remount it. After that sides all worn down you'll need a new one.

Mike..........