TonyBer

C-160 Hydro Transmission Question

TonyBer

This is my first year with this snow thrower on this C-160.  Today I was backing in the garage....back wheels up and over 1.75 inch lip and I happened to stop as the front wheels came into contact with the garage floor lip.  From a dead stop, the transmission wouldn't pull the front wheels up and over the lip.  Never had an issue with the transmission slipping or leaking and with the mower deck the machine works great.  Obviously, with a little momentum (pulled forward and then back without stopping)...right up and over.  Would anyone be concerned with the transmission slipping or is it unreasonable with weight of the thrower to pull the front wheels up and over garage floor lip from a dead stop and resting against the lip (about 1.75")?  Is there any transmission adjustment?  Thanks!!! 

IMG_5531.jpeg

squonk

You have a transmission that's 50+ yrs. old. The snow blower is quite heavy. I would bet my well worn C-160 transmission would do the same thing. My tractor loses speed up a small incline when it gets hot. I changed my transmission oil from 10w-30 to 10W-40 Mobil 1. Made a big difference. 

• Like 4

JoeM

remember the hydro only strokes about 2/3 rds in reverse. 

• Like 1

TonyBer
56 minutes ago, squonk said:

You have a transmission that's 50+ yrs. old. The snow blower is quite heavy. I would bet my well worn C-160 transmission would do the same thing. My tractor loses speed up a small incline when it gets hot. I changed my transmission oil from 10w-30 to 10W-40 Mobil 1. Made a big difference. 

I’m easy on equipment and understand your point well.  I’m going to switch transmission fluid to Mobil 1.  Thnx for tip.

Handy Don
35 minutes ago, JoeM said:

remember the hydro only strokes about 2/3 rds in reverse. 

I’m not sure how the Sunstrands work internally, or how their linkages are set up.