sttereve

520H headlights

sttereve

Recently acquired a 520H, and I'm trying to get the headlights working.

The good news is there is 12 volts all the way to the spade connectors, but neither light lights up. Normally I'd just assume the light is bad and get a new one BUT I tried running jumpers directly to the battery and it comes to life no problem. 

I'm no electrician so I am now stumped. I checked the resistance and it seemed to jump around a lot, but generally hovered around 2 ohms. Thinking maybe the light is only "mostly dead" and is only able to pull enough juice when coming right off the battery?

Any ideas to test?

• Like 1

ri702bill

Check that the ground wire is present, clean at the connections and undamaged....

Some models ground thru the pivot hinge (poor design) without a dedicated wire to go back to the frame...

Edited by ri702bill
  • Like 3

sttereve

This has the dedicated wiring for ground (green and black wires).

• Like 4

lynnmor

When you check that 12 volts, put the voltmeter probes on the terminals at the lamps.  As said above, you likely lost a good ground.

• Like 2

Jayzauto

Jump Ground of the Lights Directly to B- to complete the circuit.   

I use a Power Probe for testing wiring.   Quick and EZ.   Tests for B+ as well as B-, Not to mention that it will Supply B+ and B- at the flick of a switch.  Invaluable tool for electrical testing.

https://www.amazon.com/Power-Probe-III-Clamshell-Automotive/dp/B00G4YUWMC/ref=asc_df_B00G4YUWMC/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=309806250188&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=11111561096923130483&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9002054&hvtargid=pla-376660908451&psc=1

Single best tool I've EVER purchased.   I now own 7 of them.  Spread out Anywhere I may do testing.

GLuck, Jay

• Like 2

sttereve