Alan Mard

265H Multiple Issues

Alan Mard

I'll try to keep this succinct. The machine is a Toro/Wheelhorse 265H. I have a mower deck & the single stage blower. I'm NOT a mechanic nor do I play one on TV. There are a couple of issues with this machine.

The first issue is that the tractor has an intermittent starting issue. Some TIMES (not days) it will start and sometimes it will not make ONE sound when you turn the key. No clicks, no grunts, no NOTHING.  It's intermittent. The tractor may have been running for an hour and I'll go to restart it and it won't start.  If I wait awhile, SOMETIMES it will start again, but most times I have to jiggle some wires and if I'm lucky, it'll start. (This makes no sense because all of the connections are tight).  I have checked EVERY wired connection for frays, loose connections, shorts, etc.  A friend came by when it was DEAD and he jumped the solenoid. It started right away and he thought the wire to the solenoid was loose. We tightened it and he checked the other wires. After that, I needed to jump the solenoid to get the tractor going so I went and purchased a new solenoid. It STILL won't start with the new solenoid. It will start only if I jump it.

Next issue. The PTO clutch would come on and then kick off while operating the tractor. SOMETIMES it would "come back on" if I turned the switch off and back on again, and other times it would not come on at all. I bought a replacement clutch and had a mechanic install it. It was not an OEM version and when we started the tractor after the installation, the PTO was fully engaged, and it would NOT disengage with the switch. He put the old one back in, I sent for the OEM version. When that arrived, the mechanic installed it, and it worked just fine for about 2 weeks.  It's been a couple of weeks since, and it does NOT work again - at all.