wolfpack

wolfpack-lift arm auger belt question

wolfpack

Stay with me boys, i am new at this. 

I find two problems with my 1997 520H I would like to through out there.

1) The lift arm connected to the snow blower auger housing keeps coming off. I changed the connection to a clevis & pin. it works much better than a cotter pin, but that failed just after the last snow storm. Adjusting the feet seems to help

but does not get close enough to the ground to get a clean sweep. Why would anyone put that connection on the bottom of the auger housing? Am i doing something wrong?

2) The forward pulley for the auger belt- drive is so close to the auger housing I cannot change belts without removing the pulley, which at the moment is frozen on. The set screws holding the pulley to the shaft 

are next to impossible to get any muscle on with a small tool, no room to work. Is that pulley suppose to be that close to the auger housing?

gwest_ca

If this is a single stage snowthrower the connecting hardware was

Lift hook flat washer 920013 is 5/8" SAE

Lift hook cotter pin 932034 is 3/16" x 1"

A smaller pin won't last.

If you remove the bolts from the right shaft bearing and loosen the left bolts you can pull the pulley back far enough to get the belt on.

Garry

doc724

I couple of things to note.  The blower should not scrape the driveway.  It needs to be 1/8 to 1/4 inch between the scraper bar and the ground.  a paint stirrer can be used to set the gap.

I use a hair pin cotter (a big one) to attach the lift arm to the auger housing. Just makes it easier for me to get it off.  However, if you are in the habit of running your blower up onto the lawn, the hairpin can be pushed off.  Not a good thing in the middle of a snow storm.  Keep a spare washed and hairpin cotter on hand.

Garry is indeed correct on how to get the belt on.  I pondered the same thing and reached the same conclusion.

Sarge