Carts2Wheels

Charger - 12 stopped moving while plowing

Carts2Wheels

I'm a newbie and I'm sure this has been asked/answered somewhere so I apologize in advance.

I have a 1968 Charger 12 Automatic.  I was plowing snow last week (and had been at it for about 10-15 minutes when a pretty big pile formed in front of the blade, it bogged down a bit and then I felt a slight bump and it quit moving in either forward or reverse.  This was on a slight decline on my driveway where there usually isn't any trouble pushing through.  I checked the transmission and it was a little low on oil so I added oil and it made no difference (I doubted it would since it was running fine up until it stopped).  I then pushed it into the garage.  Later on in the day after finding this forum, I checked to make sure the belt was spinning on the side of the engine and it was.  That's as far as I've gotten.

Is there a list somewhere of where I should start looking from most likely/common issues to more in depth possibilities?  I don't even know where to begin.

I inherited this 15 years ago and haven't had to do anything with it other than maintenance items.  I do have the owners manual and a parts catalog.

Any and all help is appreciated.  Like I said, I don't even know where to begin.

Thanks in advance!

953 nut

:WRS:         Based on the conditions I would take a look at both wheel hubs on the axles. If the key has broken on either one it will bring you to an abrupt halt. 

The Sundstrand manual has a troubleshooting guide. If it isn't a hub the chart may help.

Sunstrand Hydro (part 1).pdf

Sunstrand Hydro (part 2).pdf

Sunstrand Hydro (part 3).pdf

Sunstrand Hydro (part 4).pdf

• Like 2

pfrederi

Does it have a hydro lift??? If so does it still work???

• Like 1

Carts2Wheels

No Hydro Lift, all manual other than the transmission (which keeps my 10 year old from doing the plowing HAHAHA!)

20 minutes ago, 953 nut said: