mhlmeader

Hit and Miss garden tractor Build

mhlmeader

Hi folks, It was suggested I start a build thread on this little project Im gonna attempt.  And I gotta admit, Im a little nervous about it, cause I've never tried it before.  My personal ground rules for this are keep it fun and keep it simple.  I`ve watched several youtube videos of hit/miss garden tractors and some of them are mechanical works of art.  But "dammit Jim!" I`m an electrician, not a mechanical engineer.  So here goes!!!

I picked up this sears suburban yesturday.  Its a hot mess.  Got it from a nice old timer about an hour away from me.  Kohler engine seems to run very good, and the tractor would drive, But no reverse.  My initial thought was thats a deal breaker for me.  My assumption was that the tranny was similar to alot of other tractors in that it had multiple gears inside it...1,2,3 and a reverse.  I didnt want to tackle trying to fix that sorta thing.   Well, i was wrong, and actualy the fella explained to me how the reverse was belt driven and he could never get it to work, and probably just needed adjusting or a proper belt.  Hmmmmmm..ok!!  So anyway, got the tractor brought it home.  

If anybody has any insight as to the model and year of this tractor please chime in, i was told it was a 1965 Suburban.?

Came with bits and pieces of the original engine also.......

20181002_200429.jpg

20181002_200408.jpg

20181003_102209.jpg

20181003_102316.jpg

20181003_102308.jpg

• Excellent 1

mhlmeader

Here is the engine I'm planning to use.  Stover model k. 1 1/2 h.p.......

20180927_171300.jpg

• Like 2
  • Excellent 2

mhlmeader