a.dumont

Kohler 18 HP Lacks Power

a.dumont

1973 Kohler 18 HP twin K482S. Carb cleaned, new fuel pump, fresh fuel, changed oil, gapped plugs and points... Starts and runs just fine, but lacks power; most noticeable when mower is engaged and moving. The engine slows down considerably and takes a while to catch up. Does anyone know the cranking compression spec for this engine? Can it be a timing or valve adjustment issue?

Shea Worden

I am not sure if this will help, but on My c81, when i engage the pto by pushing the lever forwards, my motor slows and my pto doesnt spin. It could be a problem with the pto or it could be your timing for compression is off. 

I am not sure about the cranking compression stats, I am a newb- i just really got my first tractor a few weeks ago and am trying to make it as close to restored as i can get it. 

Sarge