Denis L Goulet

help,stuck in reverse

hi I am a newbie to wheelhorse tractor,i bought a 1994,520,20 hp,wheelhorse tractor with mower and snowblower,a few days ago I back in garage to put cab,blower and tires and chains on it to prepare for winter.started it up on first turn, considering it was sitting at sellers house about 6 months, everything was fine , backed it up in garage ,worked on it a few days. When came time to leave the garage, started it up it would go only backwards,  it would not go in neutral or forward. I put it back up on the jack, wheels turn free opposite sides front or back when stopped. Shifter stuck in reverse when stopped as well, how do I free it up and where is the shifter assembly located, please help thanks.

:text-welcomeconfetti:

Folks with 520 expertise will be along shortly - I have no doubt!

You are on the right forum!!!

Welcome to Redsqure. 

I'm not a expert on 520h but i did own one. but sounds like linkage is binding or loose.  

Check the bolts that hold the frame to axle.

4 bolts under tractor are known to come out letting axle to bind . Other then that other experts will help you here soon.

• Like 3

You should be able to see where the linkage attaches to the trans by lifting the seat up. Check to see if things may be bound up under there.

• Like 1

:WRS:              Did it shift all right before the cab was installed? Can't think of any interference a cab would create, but wondered.

Sorry I have never worked on a 520.         :WRS:

Simple check, but you can't move the linkage with the brake on.  A few months ago a member had a 5xi that had trouble moving the linkage, It had been sitting outside and mice had made a home under the fender. You may have a similar situation. Unfortunately the cab will need to be removed to get the fender off.