OnehorseShy

Advice on a purchase

OnehorseShy

Hello all!  I am going to look at a WheelHorse c160 this weekend, but before I do, I felt like I should consult you Oracles for advice.  I've read much of your posts here and you guys are obviously the experts with the Wheelhorse.  First I will show you what I am looking at, then I will share my I plan to use it for.  I'd like your opinions on the tractor, my thinking on my intended uses, and any critiques or advice you might give to a person in my situation.

First, here's a link to Craigslist what I am looking at:  https://dallas.craigslist.org/mdf/grd/d/77-wheel-horse-garden-tractor/6291885054.html

It wasn't until I did some searching on this tractor that I realized how cool Wheel horses are.  I have no experience with any garden tractor and only recently felt like I needed one.

I recently bought 30 acres of mostly pasture land that I will renovate for hay fields. I plan to contract out the renovation on about 29 acres. The reason I need the tractor is to mow about 1 acre of common areas that are not all together - there is a loop around a couple of ponds, a few areas in and around trees, and a little road around the perimeter of the property.  I am also going to need to spray these common areas, and we'll eventually cultivate a small garden.

I was thinking this Wheel Horse would be fun to own and do the jobs intended.  I could also see myself restoring this tractor as a project in the winters for me and my 2 girls to work on.  I expect to get my hands dirty with some repairs, but I am ok with that.

My questions are:

1.  Is it a good deal?

2.  Is my thinking sound on the intended uses?

3.  Do you see anything I am misguided on?

4.  Other opinions?

Thanks!!!!!!

AMC RULES

953 nut