Big_Red_Fred

Give the Newbie some advice please

Big_Red_Fred

Sunday i leave my home with my trailer in tow to buy a non running C series tractor, 42 inch deck & Plow for 700 dollars,its a 18 horse twin Kohler. i'm a NEWBIE on here but not to Garden tractors, i have a chance now to buy a 516H, which way should a 57 year old Horse nut go, i can only get 1 this week, be easy on ole Fred ;-) 

• Like 3

Jerry77

I'm not that well versed on the C models, but I have had several 300 series WH's...great machines ..I got a 516H last fall - don't know the hours, but it runs real well (I like the power of the 16hp Onan ) - it is a gas hog tho....but the 700 eaton tranny was weak --- got a good 1100 eaton and put it in....the old horse is a beast with a snow blade on it - push dirt, gravel, you name it   and fast in forward and reverse ...it is my bulldozer around the place but  I mow with a gas sipping big box store machine...wouldn't want to mow much with it because of the gas usage..all that said, I really like the 516..well built machine...:twocents-02cents:

• Like 1

elcamino/wheelhorse

The C series sounds high to me. Do you know the model and if it is a hydro or 8 speed?

• Like 2

953 nut
1 hour ago, Big_Red_Fred said:

C series tractor, 42 inch deck & Plow for 700 dollars,its a 18 horse twin Kohler. i'm a NEWBIE on here but not to Garden tractors, i have a chance now to buy a 516H

You kind of gave us half the information on both of them.    :confusion-confused:

Is the non running "C" an eight speed or hydro? Is the Kohler just not running or has it thrown a rod. I would bring some jumper cables and some starter fluid and expect to have good compression on both cylinders and perhaps an attempt to fire. Is the 516 H running? A non running Onan can be a money pit and if it won"t run you can't test the transmission. I would be hard pressed to pay more than $ 300 for a non running Hydro because you have no idea what the condition of the transmission is.

• Like 7