Sign in to follow this  
Rollerman

Body work

Rollerman

Karl feel free to move/remove this thread...but thought I'd see if some of are body work gifted members "not me" would like to try & take a stab at some basic body work how to's with pics & some captions? :P

Like tips & tricks for straighting a grill...takeing dents out?

Nothing complex...just simple stuff the average guy might try who does not have the knowledge. :D

nylyon

This is a great idea, hopefully it will turn into one of those FAQ's. Thanks for suggesting!

Kelly

I've been doing body work for almost 25 years I'd be glad to help. I have a project coming up soon that needs some body work I will post pics, Body work is not rocket science you just have to have patience and take your time. A few basic tools, I've made many of mine over the years. Dollies, No not the ones little girls play with, blocks of steel that have different shapes to fit the many shapes of the parts you are working on, one or two body hammers, at work I use mainly one for most jobs, a metal file, larger the better. a small grinder not the kind with the stone wheel, one with a plastic or fiber back that takes 24 or 36 grit disk, you can use the flaper style but not as good. take an old hood or fender that you don't care about and If it dosn't have a dent in it, put one in it, not to big and pound it out many little hits is better than one big wack work from the outer edge going in. get it close and slap some bondo on it. The metal is think on the older horse's and with a little skill you can metal finnish no bondo, but that takes lots of practice, I spent 6 hours bumping a fender for my Raider 12 but I made sure all the factory press marks were there, just like new but better. Any questions please just ask. Kelly in MI.

combatmp29r