nrowles

How often you run the horse in winter?

nrowles

Other than snow work I have no need to use my horse in the winter. Since these horses are older and just as a good habit how often do you run your horse in the winter? This is my first year with my 1981 C145 and so far it has been an uneventful snowfall winter. I've decided that every Sunday I will let the horse warm up and make a round trip out the driveway about 1/4 mile total.

Dirtdog524

In the winter i run all my tractors about every other week for about an hour. I always allow the engine to come up to operating temperature. While the tractor is running, i check the charging system with my gauge . This seems to work in my favor come spring .

Wheel-N-It

Its a good idea to run them all for about 15 or 20 minutes every week. But of course I'm the worlds worst at taking my own advice regarding this...............................

• Like 4

Live4outdoors

I try to start them, but sometimes overlook it. I like to keep battery tenders rotating on the battery's atleast. I don't use them to plow snow since the 4 wheeler so they all sit dormant in back of the minibarn until spring.

Zeek

I do the same.  Sometimes I just fire one up and run it through the field next door.  Or if it snows through my yard and over my sandmound a few times.  The neighbors probably think I'm nuts driving a deckless tractor all over the yard  :scratchead:

They then confirm that when I go flying down the road on this  :auto-layrubber:

DSC06890_zps4ed1aa5a.jpg

• Like 5

Live4outdoors

Zeek, I don't know what that is but that would be an awesome ride

stratostar250

I try to start mine about every other week, for about 15-20 minutes, of course, I forget here and there sometimes, but it's what I would like to do, mainly just to keep the batteries good.  

snowhound