Horse46

Throttle lever slack take up

Horse46

As I'm new to all things WH I may be asking stupid questions but please bear with me.

What I want to know is, can the motor be over revved so to speak if the throttle lever is pushed to its max position?

Why I ask this is, the throttle lever had about an inch of movement before it had any effect on the engine. So what I did was take up the slack, not all but most of it, so when the lever is moved now it actually raises the revs with only a bit of throttle. So now if someone did raise it to its max position would it cause damage by over reving?

I guess what I'm asking is, is there a pre set amount of slack left for a reason ?

gwest_ca

Yes they can be over revved but don't think the amount of cable slack controlled it. On the C-Series there is a L-bracket bolted on top of the valve cover that can be positioned to limit the amount of throttle applied. What model of tractor and engine?

Garry

Horse46

Hey Garry

It's a C-101 Model No. K241AS.

gwest_ca

Service manual

Page 6-31 and Figure 6-48 shows the high speed stop which is slightly different than what I have seen.

Garry

post-120-0-14183500-1415384492_thumb.jpg

PaulC

i just bought laser tachometer to check this very thing. its a neat little tool and i was able to get my idle and full throttle rpms right where they should be. i believe for most of these engines idle should be 1200 and full should be 3400. you would want to double check that to your engine by downloading the manuals for it off of our great site here in the manuals section

i bought my laser tach from amazon and it was only 20 bucks, stick a little piece of reflective tape(which it comes with) to the flywheel screen or pto and point the laser at it with the engine running... piece of cake.

• Like 1

Horse46

I have been trying to get my horse to run nice today, so this is where I'm at right now.

She starts ok, takes a few seconds for the fuel to arrive but not an issue.