Hodge71

Painting noob... tips needed

Hodge71

This 1996 416 Im restoring as a gift to my Dad is just about ready for paint. I need some help with suggestions as this is my first foray into spraying with a gun. I ordered 2 Harbor Freight cheapies and now Im being told by a so called "pro" that I cant spray primer or clear coat with this gun. I need a gun with interchangeable tips. Also Im looking for a "system" to make sure I dont screw this up. Im nervous about mixing thinner, paint and hardener in the proper poropotions to work with the weather. I will not be painting in a booth. I heard PPG has a pretty good thing going. Please give me some intpu and insight. I want this to look great and last for my Dad

Geno

The tips do mean everything.  If you use a small tip for primer you will have big problems, it will actually try to dry before it hits the metal and not adhere.  I've been painting for 37 years.  Better get your gun in order before you do anything. 

Until you get the hang of what paint, primer, clear, etc should look like by the way it runs off of your mixing stick you should use a chart and mixing (measuring) cups.  :)

• Like 2

rmaynard

I use the same tip on my HF HVLP gun for primer as well as the red enamel.

• Like 1

rmaynard

Also, I use PPG Shop-Line single-stage acrylic enamel or urethane as my top coat. No clear coat needed. The primer that I use is Kustom Shop DTM epoxy. 

http://www.tcpglobal.com/KUS-KEP505-QT_2.html?sc=115&category=2396227#.VACGjNKwI3g

• Like 1

Trouty56

And...if you have ever seen one of Bob's tractors.....top notch paint jobs.....trailer queen quality for sure.....

Please take this as a compliment Bob.....

Hodge71

Also, I use PPG Shop-Line single-stage acrylic enamel or urethane as my top coat. No clear coat needed. The primer that I use is Kustom Shop DTM epoxy. 

http://www.tcpglobal.com/KUS-KEP505-QT_2.html?sc=115&category=2396227#.VACGjNKwI3g