rmaynard

Harbor Freight Deal on HVLP Spray Gun

rmaynard

From time to time we all have entered into the discussion of "what do you use to paint with?" . Well, the Harbor Freight HVLP gun always comes up. I have said, any time they go on sale, I pick up a couple. It's easier and cheaper to just throw them away than to spend money on lacquer thinner to clean them, not to mention the time involved.

This weekend Harbor Freight is having a "Yard Sale". Here is what I got.

post-2221-0-90868800-1408812964_thumb.pn

Then I presented this:

post-2221-0-37303000-1408812999_thumb.pn

So, bottom line is $9.99 less 25% = $7.49 each. I bought four of them. I had 4 coupons, and I had to go through several different registers to get my discount, but it was worth it.

• Like 5

Racinbob

I bought one of those quite a while ago but haven't used it yet. I have very little experience with a paint sprayer. Your paint jobs look great Bob. What paint do you use and how are you thinning it? My paint of choice would be Rusty Regal red. Any hardener? I'm thinking I'll try painting the 'body' parts on my Suburban with the sprayer in a couple months.

rmaynard

On the last one I did, the 857, I used PPG Shop-Line acrylic enamel. It is mixed in a ratio of 8:1:1, (paint:hardener:thinner). All of the products were purchased at my local PPG jobber.

I've never sprayed Rustoleum through an HVLP sprayer. I am not sure what hardener or thinner would be required. You could probably contact customer service at Rustoleum and get that info.

The reason I don't use Rustoleum is due to the fact that it is an oil based enamel paint, and curing time can be lenghty. An acrylic enamel will air dry and cure in 16 hours. Force dried at 140 degrees it takes 30 minutes.

By the way, all of my tractors have been painted with the HF HVLP guns.

Sparky

Does it have to be purple :ychain:  .

That is a great deal tho.

Mike.........

JimD