wheeledhorseman

Making sense of Amnor (Belgium) serial numbers

wheeledhorseman

This is my first attempt at making sense of the information on the ID tags of Wheel Horse tractors assembled by Amnor in Belgium, in attempting to do so there were some issues that needed consideration.

When a single product is manufactured on a continuous production line it is simple to allocate serial numbers sequentially. Where a range of products like different tractors and attachments are manufactured in batches rather than continuously it becomes more of a challenge so one might have expected discrepancies. In the event it appears that they did a reasonable job in this respect at the Amnor factory, more so than many believe though I anticipate a slight jumble around the year boundaries as the list grows.

The main source of confusion appears to stem from two things. WH model numbers indicate a ‘year’ but this was not the calendar year. Like the auto industry, the new model was introduced before the end of the calendar year probably October in the case of Wheel Horse.  For example, even if an original bill of sale indicates 1972, the tractor could still be a 1973 model.

The second factor adding to this confusion is where owners put a ‘year’ to a tractor based on the decals or some other feature rather than the model (and hence year) given on the ID plate. These two things turned out to be more significant than serial number discrepancies in unraveling the story.

By using the model year in a serial number list, differences between what was built and badged for the European market compared to the US become easier to identify and patterns emerge. It also becomes clear that the serial sequence was actually pretty good.

Amnor serials ver 01.pdf

[version 01 April 10 2014]