redhorserider

newbie here...I think my transmission is leaking and not sure of the tractor

redhorserider

I just picked up this tractor yesterday, was told it was a 1968 electro 12? It's in great shape, fires right up and runs great, plows mountains of snow with not even breaking a sweat at half throttle. Only problem i noticed since yesterday to today is a small puddle of atf fluid under the tractor. Seems to be coming from the transmission at the rear. Tractor is a beast and doesnt even bog or slip after pushing 2 feet of snow into a snow bank, the tires start slipping. Please help

redhorserider

sorry for not being more informative. is it simple to remove the trans and split the halves to replace the gasket? is there a certain way to open it? are gears and what not gonna fall out all over the place? please help

stevasaurus

Welcome to Red Square...:)  If you have the horse you are talking about, you have a Sundstrand #90-2046...the seals for the axles are #5 in the link...Wheel Horse # 6449.  Should be able to get them from TORO.  Here is the link to your tractor manual..

I do not know a lot about hydros, but you may be able to dig out the seals without dropping the trans.  Take off the wheels and hubs...you may be able to dig them out with an ice pick or an awl...they are only about 1/8" thick.  Check for movement with the axle (that would mean a worn bearing).  If no movement...OK.  If movement, you would have to drop the trans to r & r the bearing.  A picture of your trans is in the above link.  Let's go from there.  :)

daveoman1966

The Electro 12 has Sundstrand 90-2046 hydro power unit and here is a schematic of it. 

You need to FIRST...determine the EXACT source of the leak.  If it is the trans gasket, 1st to re-torque the bolts holding it together. If it isn't the trans gasket, check the axle seals...they may be leaking.  Beyond that, check the pump seals.