Sign in to follow this  
zanepetty

leaky rearend pulley

I've had my wheel horse 753 for about a week now and hasn't leaked a drop of anything. Previous owner said it didn't leak for him either. I walked to the garage today and noticed a couple of drops under the rear end!:( they came from the pulley on the left side. Any advice on how to fix this? Thanks

Zane

Remove the brake drum and replace the oil seal. Toro part number 100863 or NAPA NOS9815.

Awesome. I'm going to probably do the axle seals too. I've never done that before on anything. Is it really hard to do?

Awesome. I'm going to probably do the axle seals too. I've never done that before on anything. Is it really hard to do?

Changing the seals is easy. Pulling the hubs to do so can be tough.

Hi Zane,  in your first message you said no leaks except around the brake drum shaft?

Axle seals aren't leaking?  Why change them?

Use a hammer on what?  Rear hubs?  ummmm, NO, not unless you want to be buying new hubs.

Use a hammer on what?  Rear hubs?  ummmm, NO, not unless you want to be buying new hubs.

and possibly knock the C clip off the end of the axle on the inside of the transmission, making it necessary to open the transmission.

OK good to know. My friend said it was fine. I didn't think so. The right axle seal looks wet. There's not a drop running down it but I just thought it might b a good idea while I'm at it. Maybe not?

I dunno... for just a little bit of 'seepage' like that, I don't think I would bother... I guess it depends on how 'AR' you are!  :ychain:  and how much ambition you have!

I personally would probably 'shake er down' for a few months and see how it goes, then make a list of stuff you want to do with it and set up a 'priority list' of what NEEDS to be done, and what you WANT to do.

Strangest thing. I moved and and let it sit all day and not one drop of oil is under it in the new spot..oh well I guess she fixed herself!:D