Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

K321


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Iggy68

Iggy68

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Joined 10-December 09
  • 3 thanks
    • Member No: 2285
  • LocationYork,SC

Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:33 AM

I got the gt into the shop. Located a new starter and put it in. Turn the key and it won't turn the engine over. In fact the bendix sticks in the teeth of the flywheel. I took the cover off to inspect. I'm not real educated on this type of starter setup so I need some help.
1. Do these starters need shims to align with the flywheel?
2. I see there is a trigger module that is not hooked up, is it supposed to be?
3. The key switch has 5 prongs with only 4 wires hooked up to it.

Here are some pics
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Mark

#2 OFFLINE   TT-(Moderator)

TT

    Got Wheel Horse?

  • Moderators-(Moderator)
  • 10,620 posts
  • Joined 06-August 07
  • 145 thanks
    • Member No: 33
  • LocationJulian, PA

Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:44 AM

The trigger module was left there from a breakerless to battery ignition conversion and won't hurt anything - but it can be removed if you want.

The starter motors can be shimmed as necessary, but it looks like the return spring on the starter drive ("bendix") might be missing on your starter.

If it is there, it should look like this:
start.png

You will need to make sure the helix of the drive is clean in the gear and on the shaft. Use powered graphite or an equivalent 'dry' lubricant when assembling.

Terry
 


Interested in becoming a forum supporter?


#3 OFFLINE   Buckshot 1

Buckshot 1

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Joined 17-September 11
  • 4 thanks
    • Member No: 5389
  • Military Member: Air_Force
  • LocationFort Wayne, IN

Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:44 AM

:) It looks to me that the starter gear is set to deep in the ring gear. Try shimming it out a little. Did you bench test that starter? On the trigger module I have no idea, as I have never messed with one. :flags-usa:
Don B., Ft. Wayne, IN. United States Air Force 1962-1968

#4 OFFLINE   Don1977

Don1977

    Senior Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,726 posts
  • Joined 25-March 09
  • 49 thanks
    • Member No: 1232
  • Military Member: Navy
  • LocationRockwell, NC

Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:49 AM

Your solenoid switch should be grounded ( bolted to the metal engine cover or to the tractor frame) to get power to the starter .

#5 OFFLINE   TT-(Moderator)

TT

    Got Wheel Horse?

  • Moderators-(Moderator)
  • 10,620 posts
  • Joined 06-August 07
  • 145 thanks
    • Member No: 33
  • LocationJulian, PA

Posted 30 December 2012 - 12:01 PM

Your solenoid switch should be grounded ( bolted to the metal engine cover or to the tractor frame) to get power to the starter .


It is. It's bolted to the grille brace.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Although there has been mention of shimming starters on these engines, I haven't personally seen one that needed it. :confusion-shrug:

Terry
 


Interested in becoming a forum supporter?


#6 OFFLINE   Iggy68

Iggy68

    Advanced Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Joined 10-December 09
  • 3 thanks
    • Member No: 2285
  • LocationYork,SC

Posted 30 December 2012 - 01:17 PM

After closer inspection of both starters the new one was missing the cup thingy that the spring seats in. Buckshot you were right. Once I switch that out it works. No shims needed. Now that I have it turning over time to check the normal stuff, no spark or fuel. I have a buddy that works for sunbelt(division of JD). Petra cAtalog here we come. Might as well get all new electrical parts. Gonna redo all the wiring while I'm at it. Carb kit and fuel lines. Thanks for the help with the starter.
Mark

#7 OFFLINE   TT-(Moderator)

TT

    Got Wheel Horse?

  • Moderators-(Moderator)
  • 10,620 posts
  • Joined 06-August 07
  • 145 thanks
    • Member No: 33
  • LocationJulian, PA

Posted 30 December 2012 - 01:29 PM

I would clean and set the points first - before spending money on new parts that you might not even need.

Hopefully the ignition switch has also been changed to work with the battery ignition conversion. :confusion-shrug:

Terry
 


Interested in becoming a forum supporter?


#8 OFFLINE   Iggy68

Iggy68

    Advanced Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Joined 10-December 09
  • 3 thanks
    • Member No: 2285
  • LocationYork,SC

Posted 30 December 2012 - 01:49 PM

Terry how can I verify that?
Mark

#9 OFFLINE   TT-(Moderator)

TT

    Got Wheel Horse?

  • Moderators-(Moderator)
  • 10,620 posts
  • Joined 06-August 07
  • 145 thanks
    • Member No: 33
  • LocationJulian, PA

Posted 30 December 2012 - 02:04 PM

Long story short, there has to be power at the ignition coil + terminal when the switch is in both "run" and "start" positions.
If the person who performed the conversion used the "A" (accessory) terminal on the original switch for ignition power, it will not have ignition power when cranking and will only fire when the key is released back to the "run" position.
That will work only if the engine turns over fast enough to "catch" and the person trying to start it knows that's how it has to happen.

Terry
 


Interested in becoming a forum supporter?


#10 OFFLINE   Iggy68

Iggy68

    Advanced Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Joined 10-December 09
  • 3 thanks
    • Member No: 2285
  • LocationYork,SC

Posted 30 December 2012 - 05:47 PM

I tore it down. Removed everything around the engine. It needs cleaned up anyway. Took the carb off and it is soaking. Checked the points, cleaned them and set the gap, they were only gapped at .010. Voltage regulator has a broken off tab so a new one is needed. I made a diagram of the switch and labeled where the wires went. I will post that soon.
Mark

#11 OFFLINE   Iggy68

Iggy68

    Advanced Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Joined 10-December 09
  • 3 thanks
    • Member No: 2285
  • LocationYork,SC

Posted 30 December 2012 - 05:51 PM

Here is the pic of the switch.
Posted Image
Mark

#12 OFFLINE   TT-(Moderator)

TT

    Got Wheel Horse?

  • Moderators-(Moderator)
  • 10,620 posts
  • Joined 06-August 07
  • 145 thanks
    • Member No: 33
  • LocationJulian, PA

Posted 30 December 2012 - 05:54 PM

That's the switch for battery ignition and it was wired correctly. :handgestures-thumbup:

Terry
 


Interested in becoming a forum supporter?


Thanked by 1 Member:
Iggy68

#13 OFFLINE   Iggy68

Iggy68

    Advanced Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Joined 10-December 09
  • 3 thanks
    • Member No: 2285
  • LocationYork,SC

Posted 30 December 2012 - 06:10 PM

Thanks Terry.
Mark

#14 OFFLINE   Buckshot 1

Buckshot 1

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Joined 17-September 11
  • 4 thanks
    • Member No: 5389
  • Military Member: Air_Force
  • LocationFort Wayne, IN

Posted 31 December 2012 - 08:24 AM

:) Glad to hear that you fiqured it out and its working again. :text-happynewyear: :flags-usa:
Don B., Ft. Wayne, IN. United States Air Force 1962-1968

#15 OFFLINE   Wheel-N-It

Wheel-N-It

    RedSquare Pro

  • Supporter
  • 2,351 posts
  • Joined 07-January 12
  • 77 thanks
    • Member No: 5982
  • LocationCentral North Carolina

Posted 01 January 2013 - 08:31 AM

You're a good man Terry :)

Van's horses listed below
1991 312-8 Kohler Magnum 12
1986 416-8 Kohler K341
1986 417-A Kohler KT17 Series 2
1984 C-165 Kohler K341
1987 414-8 Kohler Magnum 14

1993 314 HYDRO Kohler Magnum 14

1987  416-8 Kohler Magnum 16


#16 OFFLINE   Iggy68

Iggy68

    Advanced Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Joined 10-December 09
  • 3 thanks
    • Member No: 2285
  • LocationYork,SC

Posted 02 January 2013 - 06:47 PM

I got my quote back for the parts I need. Holy crap is it reasonable.
Air filter
Voltage regulator
Coil
Carb kit
Seat with folding arm rests

All for 116 bucks, 75 of it is the seat.
Nice to have a few connections.
Mark

#17 OFFLINE   oldredrider

oldredrider

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 506 posts
  • Joined 25-March 08
  • 25 thanks
    • Member No: 218
  • LocationCentral Virginia

Posted 02 January 2013 - 07:11 PM

How about a picture of that $75.00 seat?
Paul in Central Va.

#18 OFFLINE   Iggy68

Iggy68

    Advanced Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Joined 10-December 09
  • 3 thanks
    • Member No: 2285
  • LocationYork,SC

Posted 02 January 2013 - 07:20 PM

Posted Image


Mark

#19 OFFLINE   oldredrider

oldredrider

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 506 posts
  • Joined 25-March 08
  • 25 thanks
    • Member No: 218
  • LocationCentral Virginia

Posted 03 January 2013 - 06:48 AM

Where did you get the seat?
Paul in Central Va.

#20 OFFLINE   Wheel-N-It

Wheel-N-It

    RedSquare Pro

  • Supporter
  • 2,351 posts
  • Joined 07-January 12
  • 77 thanks
    • Member No: 5982
  • LocationCentral North Carolina

Posted 03 January 2013 - 09:14 AM

Where did you get the seat?


Yeah, where did you get the seat??? I want six of them!!!

Van's horses listed below
1991 312-8 Kohler Magnum 12
1986 416-8 Kohler K341
1986 417-A Kohler KT17 Series 2
1984 C-165 Kohler K341
1987 414-8 Kohler Magnum 14

1993 314 HYDRO Kohler Magnum 14

1987  416-8 Kohler Magnum 16


#21 OFFLINE   oldredrider

oldredrider

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 506 posts
  • Joined 25-March 08
  • 25 thanks
    • Member No: 218
  • LocationCentral Virginia

Posted 04 January 2013 - 01:20 PM

Bump
Paul in Central Va.

#22 OFFLINE   Iggy68

Iggy68

    Advanced Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Joined 10-December 09
  • 3 thanks
    • Member No: 2285
  • LocationYork,SC

Posted 04 January 2013 - 02:26 PM

I'm getting the seat from Sunbelt. A buddy of mine is getting at employee pricing. Normally it is a 140 dollar seat.
Mark

#23 OFFLINE   Iggy68

Iggy68

    Advanced Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Joined 10-December 09
  • 3 thanks
    • Member No: 2285
  • LocationYork,SC

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:18 AM

From my switch drawing above what post do I feed power to the switch that turns on the electric pto clutch?
Mark

#24 OFFLINE   TT-(Moderator)

TT

    Got Wheel Horse?

  • Moderators-(Moderator)
  • 10,620 posts
  • Joined 06-August 07
  • 145 thanks
    • Member No: 33
  • LocationJulian, PA

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:23 AM

The "A" (accessory) terminal is for the lights & PTO clutch feed.

Terry
 


Interested in becoming a forum supporter?


#25 OFFLINE   Iggy68

Iggy68

    Advanced Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Joined 10-December 09
  • 3 thanks
    • Member No: 2285
  • LocationYork,SC

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:31 AM

Thanks Terry.
Mark




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users