Sign in to follow this  
Raider12

8 Speed with a Diff Lock?

Raider12

I have a 1971 Radia 12 with the 8 speed. I would love to make a diff lock for this diff. As anyone tried this before?

Curmudgeon

That tractor has the limited slip 10 pinion differential in it. Not a locker by any means, just limited slip as the name implies.

Do you want it locked up solid all the time for pulling? The 10 pinion isn't near as strong as an 8 pinion, which may be of little concern if you somehow lock things up solid.

Raider12

What I wanted to do is make so I can lock it up only on a as needed bases. I was looking to see if anyone has ever done this before. What models have the 8 pinion diff? I have even concidered going to a hydro set up. Is the hydro diff any different of a differrential? Im kind of new with the tinkering with these old tractors. This radair 12 I have owned now for 18 years and would not give it up for anything. I have a pic of mine on my profile. I restored it about 16 years ago. But after being used to mow and plow every drive in the alotment, it needs some TLC. This winter I plan a complete make over. Thanks

TT

I'm sure if you had the money, you could fabricate something to lock the differential, but I can't really see why you'd have to.

It would require a complete redesign of the differential, and there really isn't that much spare room inside the cases for extra parts either.

If that 10 pinion limited slip differential is functioning properly and you have enough weight on the Raider, it should do almost anything you ask of it -- otherwise, you might want to look into the Caterpillar brand of equipment. B)

Curmudgeon

I'd have to agree with TT. Anything can be done if money and time is no object, but few of have both of those options.