Sign in to follow this  
cham-ed

Horse power

cham-ed

:whistle: I have another question for the group. The 702 I used to have, had a 7HP Kohler (K161). My current self propelled walk behind has a 6.75 B&S. My Kohler had A LOT my power than the 2006 B&S. Has the concept of rating horsepower changed over the years? Or am I imagining something?

Cham-Ed

wse100

wiki horsepower This may help a bit :D

They still measure it the same way.

I think i know what you mean. I have two lawn mowers, both 11 horse briggs. my horizontal (wheelhorse)seems to have more power? They are just about the same age. On another thread they were saying that the kohlers had much more power than briggs of the same H/P rating?

I'm still learning :WRS: :whistle:

dgjks6

I wonder is it has more to do with the transmission and how the power gets to the wheels?

wse100

I wonder is it has more to do with the transmission and how the power gets to the wheels?

In my case it just has more power, cutting pulling et cetera. my wheelhorse has a 42" deck 11 h/p, my simplicity has a 36" deck 11 hp. my simplicity bogs down, my horse just keeps chewing?

maybe there is a technical reason?

BairleaFarm

horsepower origniated for along time ago. Each horse power represents the amount of weight that can be towed in a certain amount of time. I think its 30000 ft pounds per minute. Example. My tractor 8 hp. That equals 240000 ftlbs per minute. So my engine shold be able to tow/pull 240 lbs in 1000 feet in 1 minute. Hope thats not confusing. :whistle:

dgjks6

It may have to do with torque - but I am having a hrad time understanding the difference between hp and torque

Greg

BairleaFarm

I told you what hp was. Now torque. Torque is how hard you pull the rope :whistle:

Think of it like this. Dragraceing. Hp is how fast you hit the wall and torque is how far you go through the wall. Ever been to a truck pull?