mailman

Oil leak help.

mailman

I have a leak coming from behind my pto assembly. I removed most of it but the last part. Do these four bolts hold it on? :whistle: And what do you think might cure the leak? Is there a gasket or some kind of seal behind it? :WRS: I'm sorry , I am a novice at this.

051.jpg

mailman

Ok, I got that off. now it looks like the belt pulley needs to come off. Is it held on by just a set screw?

Also, it looks as though there has been some rubbing on the belt guard.

001.jpg

TT

Behind the PTO clutch disc you will find the tractor drive pulley which is held to the crankshaft by two setscrews. (You'll probably have to remove the drive belt from the pulley.) Once the engine pulley is off of the crankshaft, you'll find a lip type oil seal located in the engine block. That's undoubtedly the source of the oil leak.

They are available from Kohler under P/N X-583-2-S for less than $5.

You'll have to carefully use a small bent pick or equivalent to extract the old seal. Polish the seal surface of the crankshaft (use very fine sandpaper), wipe it clean, and coat it with oil or light grease before installing the new seal. Use a piece of pipe, etc. to "drive" the new seal in flush or just below the block surface. (not more than 1/16")

mailman

Thanks TT. I see now that there are two set screws. I got one backed out, the other, as murphey's law would have it, is tighter than a lid on a ten year old Vermont maple syrup can. I'm afraid I might snap it. I got some wd-40 in it now. will try it later. I need to get some PB Blaster.

mailman

Ok, I got the second setscrew out, but it appears that the drive pulley had attempted to be removed before. If you look closely at the pics you'll see that it has been broken in a couple places. This thing is also tightly set on the shaft. Do I need some kind of puller to remove this? Any tips on how to pull this thing off?

003.jpg

004.jpg

TT