Sign in to follow this  
wse100

Can it lift it?

wse100

Well as you know i'm new to wheel horse, But i just love this little tractor. I need my garden tilled, and wasn't sure if it had the power to pull a brinly style plow...

I have an old front tine tiller, and everyone know thay beat you to death (and don't really do a great job!) So I fabed a bracket to pull it behind my horse.

Wheelhorse002.jpg

I know it looks like a hillbilly rig, and the welds are sloppy, but I had the plate laying here and had to try.

Wheelhorse003.jpg

My question is do you think My clevis can lift this?

I know the answer, as I had to try...Just interested in your thoughts.

kpinnc

I've found my clevis hitch will handle anything I hang back there, right up to the point where the front tires come off the ground. I'll say as long as your front wheels stay down (especially with an aluminum block Work Horse), you'll be fine. :whistle:

But, unless that tiller has reverse on the tines, I would try and mount it the other way. Wheel Horse tillers (as well as most other tractor/tiller combos) turn the tines in the same direction as the rotation of the wheels. You could definately get that tractor stuck pulling the tiller backward, particulary on a second pass over the same spot.

Just my $.02 :WRS:

Pretty neat idea you have there, can't say I haven't considered it myself.

Kevin

wse100

Actually my goal was to pull it in reverse, while the tines are spinning forward. When i used to do it by hand I found that if i pulled it back while the tines were still spinning forward, it would just chew up the ground!

Lets see what the others think.

BairleaFarm

Looks good, not a bad idea. Be sure to take pictures

Stigian

I like your thinking sir :whistle:

It will be interesting to see how well it works.

Keep us updated and dont forget the "in action" pic's :WRS:

wse100

ok, Ok Time for the truth.