Sign in to follow this  
illinilefttackle

OIL CONFUSION

illinilefttackle

:thumbs: I must admit-I'm confused. I try to read as much as I can about things before I do them. I am planning on re-building the K-301 in my C-125 so I would like to know as much as I can about it. I was reading on a Brian Miller site and it said he recommended using NON-detergent oil in these splash systems. I always used non-detergent in my dads Ranch King-12 HP briggs-because it says too.

But what about these Kohlers? I'm using Shell Rotella right now-HELP!

AL :thumbs:

520HC

I've been using Kohler Engines for over 25 Years and I have always used Detergent oil.Never had a problem.Kohler oil itself is detergent oil.I just finished rebuilding a 16 HP in a 30 year old Wheel horse for a friend who always used detergent oil and not a bit of sludge was found in the oil pan.That's what detergent oil does for you.Just My thoughts.

Kelly

I know it cost more but in my good motors I use Mobil 1 full syntetic and have not had a problem, I also use it in my truck and race cars transmissions and rearends may cost more but parts are not cheap

Jim_M

I also use Shell Rotella 30 Weight in the summer and 10W 30 in the winter. My Power King has Amsoil 30W small engine oil in it and it seems to work fine, but it's over $7.00 a quart. I was given 3 quarts to try out or I probably wouldn't have it.

hoosier

I've read that non- detergent oil should be used in anything that does'nt have an oil filter and a means to circulate the oil, I'm taking that to mean an oil pump. The reasoning is the non-detergent oil allows the nasty stuff to fall to the bottom of the oil pan and a detergent oil keeps it suspended for removal by the filter, which means the impurities might still be splashed upon your moving parts. Like air compressors mostly call for a non-detergent oil. That said, I've never used a non-detergent oil in any of my engines. I just don't know enough to make an informed decision.

Curmudgeon