Sign in to follow this  
mackinawdave

5-1010 mower deck problem

mackinawdave

:thumbs2: I am a Wheel Horse newbie this summer and am having trouble tuning up my mower deck. Its a 1974 5-1010 SD deck mounted on a 1972 charger 10 Automatic. The three blade alignment is not very good. All three blade heights are different plus it leaves a strip of grass between two of the blades. The worst is the left blade @ 1/4 inch shorter than the middle blade, plus there is 3/8 gap between those two blades. I cross checked by switching multiple combinations of six blades and came up with these consistent results. Is it possible that the wrong spindle housing has been installed? Or perhaps a non OEM replacement housing was installed and the specs are that far off? Can shims be used between the deck and spindle housing to adjust the spindle height? Are the mounting holes oblong so that a spindle can be adusted left or right? Or is this a good as a 5-1010 deck will get? Thanks for your input and help, mackinawdave

mackinawdave

:thumbs2: I am surprised no one has any suggestions for correcting this? Or at least tell me this is as good as the decks are?

bo dawg

:ychain: mackinawdave. I think some of the guys missed this one or they would have responded. As to your question with shimming the spindles, I wouldn't do that, you can add spacers/washers of diferent thicknesses under the blades to even them up. This could also be the problem and there's spacers in the wrong place. Take the blades off and look to see if there's any washers on the spindles.